These Batches Of Cheerios Cereals Were Just Pretending To Be Gluten-Free!

Not so gluten-free?

General Mills, the parent producer of Cheerios cereal products, has announced that it is recalling some Cheerios products from shelves as they were mislabelled as ‘gluten-free‘, when they did in fact contain wheat.

Recently, Cheerios launched a massive gluten-free campaign, claiming that they were making popular varieties of their cereals; Original, Honey Nut, Apple Cinnamon, Frosted and Multi-Grain gluten free.

GlutenFree

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

However, after a large number of consumers fell ill after eating Cheerios products that were supposedly gluten-free, the FDA and Cheerios manufacturers recognised an error in labelling. All the mislabelled products came from a factory in Lodi, California, where wheat flour had gotten mixed up with the oat flour that is used to make gluten-free cereal.

On the official Cheerios Twitter handle, the company released news of the recall, as well as information about products involved.

Additionally, Jim Murphy wrote on the General Mills blog saying ““As president of General Mills’ cereal business, I am embarrassed and truly sorry to announce today that we are recalling boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on several dates at our Lodi, California facility.”

To get refunds or if they have queries, customers can contact the General Mills Consumer services on 800-775-8370.

Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.