Sorry PETA, Oreos Aren’t Vegan
March 13, 2018
Christina George (1508 articles)

Sorry PETA, Oreos Aren’t Vegan

Recently, PETA came out with a with a bit of a controversial tweet (so, just another day at the office for them).

However, it turns out that (like many of their sometimes questionable tweets) this may, in fact, be untrue. According to this Twitter exchange, they even got called out on it.

Of course, we couldn’t take Twitter’s word for it, so we some digging (aka Googling until we found this article by Delish).  Recently, an FAQ from Oreo’s U.K. site started circulating. It asks “Is Oreo suitable for Vegans?” and answers “No, Oreo have milk as cross contact and therefore are not suitable for vegans.” Push past the British grammar and vocabulary, and focus: Cross contact means that a food might come into contact with another food during production — maybe two different products are made on the same machine — so Oreos can’t be quality-controlled for traces of milk. Whoops, sorry PETA, better luck next time.

Tags oreo, peta, Snack

View this in app

Christina George

Christina George

Compulsive junk food eater, football watcher, and book reader. Hate the unicorn trend, love laughing at my own jokes; also, sometimes I write about food.

News Letter


Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


  1. Heather Moore (@HMOORE123)
    Sane vegans aren't worried about traces of ingredients from other products or spores from the air or what have you. It's not a utopian world. We're more concerned about the actual ingredients used to prepare a product, and in that case, Oreo's are vegan. People with severe allergies to milk products have to be careful not to consume milk in even trace amounts, and the Oreo manufacturer surely doesn't want to put anyone in the hospital (or worse) with an allergic reaction, so they are understandably careful what they say about cross contamination.
    • Gaayathri Harikrishnan
      Gaayathri Harikrishnan March 14, 17:13
      Thank you for your insight! check out for more.

Write comment

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Now watch