Parmesan Cheese Is Actually Non Vegetarian But Vegans Probably Already Knew That
So, it turns out that Parmesan Cheese, that delightful delicacy that brings almost any dish to life, is non-vegetarian. Honestly, that revelation didn’t really bother me, but if you’re a vegetarian who didn’t know I’m sure you’re shook. I can also guarantee that by the end of this article you may hate me and yourself (don’t kill the messenger).
It’s quite commonly known that Parmesan frequently ends up on most pasta dishes as well as other things that are meant to be delicious. It’s pretty much a given that at some point in your vegetarian life you’ve eaten Parmesan cheese.
Here’s the kicker, Parmesan Cheese is actually made with *drum roll* calf rennet. Science students will know that we need rennet in order for the cheese to set. Vegetarians, you may get a bit squeamish here, for the uninitiated, the source of calf rennet is actually the stomach of slaughtered newly-born calves (don’t hate me).
Obviously, it’s not your fault. Clearly many chefs had no idea, and it’s not as if you read the back of your cheese (vegans do). Feel slightly relieved in the firm knowledge that this isn’t your fault, how were you to know when professionals didn’t? At least now you can take appropriate action to ensure it never happens again. Better late than never?